Selena – The Betty Interview

The biggest teen star on the planet is giving out free dating advice.
“Be prepared for the drama,” says the sweet voice of the girl who once upon a time ago famously called Nick Jonas her significant other.
Deal with it. That’s o-v-e-r.

“Any crush or relationship is always a big ordeal,” Selena Gomez, now 18, advises. “To get that one boy to like you and then he doesn’t feels like the end of the world. I figure that you will have about 1,000 dates until you get to your perfect guy,” she says, sounding Oprah-esque and far wiser than her years on this planet when she concludes with this sage wisdom: “What happens in-between will be filled with challenge and tears.”

Not that we want to pry, but no she’s not crushing on a Jonas anymore. In fact, when you’re the reigning teen queen there are no dates at all.
Read Selena Gomez and Taylor Lautner’s Secret Meeting

“Unfortunately, I haven’t been on a date in over six months,” says the star of stage, screen and TV. “In hindsight, it doesn’t really seem that long between dates. The truth is I haven’t met anyone, but I’m young. I don’t need to have a boyfriend right now.”

She’s beyond busy with a new fashion line, which debuted August 1st at Kmart and another teen flick, which just wrapped called Monte Carlo with Leighton Meester and Katie Cassidy.

Tell us about shooting Monte Carlo with Leighton and Katie?
I had the best time shooting Monte Carlo. In Paris I went shopping and found this really, really cute trench coat. Cream colored with beautiful buttons on it and a sash. It was even on sale.

Were you happy to star in Ramona and Beezus, which hit on some important topics like parents who lose jobs and houses that might go into foreclosure?
This film doesn’t sugar coat it and I’m glad. The movie has a different message. It focuses on the power of sisterhood, but also addresses how to deal with parents who are going through a hard time. It’s about how parents who argue really do affect the kids. There’s a moment where Ramona dreams of her own room, but the minute things get rough, she wants to crawl in bed with her big sis.

Did you ever go through hard times as a kid?
I definitely had to deal with everything growing up. My Mom and Dad are separated, but they are really good friends. But at the time they split, it felt really hard. It definitely wasn’t easy on my heart. In the long run, I got an amazing stepdad. But at the time, change was really hard.

How do you deal with screaming young fans?
Most of the time when I go to the bathroom in public, little girls will follow me in and poke their heads under the stall. They’ll ask for an autograph and I’ll say, “Sure, but can you wait until I’m done?” It’s all very sweet. The other day I went to a Sports Authority with my Dad to get his golfing stuff. Dad walked one way and I said, “I’ll be fine over here.” But suddenly it was crazy. I guess a lot of the Dads know about me and they lined up to get autographs for their daughters. I actually thought that was really nice.

Tell us about your new Kmart clothing line.
My clothing line is a dream-come-true. I’ve worked on it for two years. I went into my closet and picked out all my favorite clothes from shirts to jeans to accessories. It’s about less is more and being casual and cute. I also made my line eco friendly and made sure my fans could afford it. I wanted them to feel comfortable. So, I have skinny jeans. My mom even wears my skinny jeans. I have really cute, comfy T-s, too.

Read Get Selena Gomez’s Look For Less

And you have a new album out in the fall, right? What is the vibe of the CD?
I think it reflects the appropriate amount of growth as a musician. I wanted to remain youthful on the CD, but I needed to grow. At the same time, I wanted everyone to have a good time listening to my music. This CD is a lot different from my first one. It has a lot more dance tunes. Every track is a dance party track.

What do you get out of performing on stage?
Performing on stage is indescribable. I can never explain it to anyone. Doing a live show is hard. I’m tired when it’s over, but I’m dealing with something I love, which is performing in front of an audience. I’m with the people I love who love me back. It’s just a big love fest. When I do my show, I look out in the crowd and know those people are genuinely happy to share that time with me.

Who are you a fan of….Gaga?
Definitely. I love Gaga and Katie Perry. I love Kelly Clarkson. I believe in a lot of girl power.

Do you have any beauty tips …especially how you maintain your gorgeous hair?
I have a lot of hair. The key is you don’t wash your hair every single day. I wash two or three times a week. The rest of the time, I let it go natural. As for my face, I do wash before I go to bed. My Mom made me do this when I was younger and it was great advice.

What do you do when you’re home in Texas with nothing on your schedule?
If I have a day or two, I just stay in the house after loading up on movies at Blockbuster. I’ll order Chinese food and just stay in my jammies.

Leave a Reply

